Ministers Visit

On Thursday 27 February it was a pleasure to welcome The Honourable John-Paul Langbroek MP, Minister for Education, Training and Employment and The Honourable Ian Walker MP, Minister for Science, Information Technology, Innovation and the Arts. With the support of our student leaders, Jackson Huang, Jessie Binns, Clint Therakam and Lucy Davis, the Ministers toured a Year 11 Computer Science class in practical programming; a Year 11 Physics class in electricity and circuits; a Year 10 Biology class studying DNA including a hypothetical crime scene and a Year 10 Chemistry class examining properties of the periodic table.

The Ministers visit allowed us to showcase innovation in Science education through showcasing best practice at the Queensland Academy for Science Mathematics and Technology, academic achievement at the Academy and the wide range of partnerships entered into by the school to promote enrichment of Science education through collaboration with Universities, Science ambassadors, QAPS online and cluster outreach (on line learning for Young Scholars), SPARQ-ed (UQ Diamantina Institute at Princess Alexandra Hospital) and the STEM primary enrichment cluster etc.

Both Ministers were very engaged with our students. The Science ambassadors in particular represented the school in a very positive and engaging manner. They modelled leadership for the younger students and represented the true nature of an IB learner.

Dr Judy Neilson, Acting Principal