STAQ 2014 Queensland Science Contest

Congratulations to the five students listed below who have been awarded a place in this year’s Science Teachers’ Association of Queensland (STAQ) Queensland Science Contest. Each year QASMT nominates a number of students to submit either their Extended Essay or Internal Assessment work in the Scientific and Mathematical Investigations categories. Being awarded a place in this prestigious competition is an outstanding recognition of their submission state wide. Successful applicants in the Scientific Investigations category are entered into the national BHP Billiton Science Awards and a number of winners are awarded bursaries depending on their topic.

The awards ceremony for these prestigious awards was held at the University of Queensland in the Abel Smith Lecture Theatre on Saturday 18 October at 1pm.

Winners Scientific Investigations (Years 11-12) Category

1st place – Jackson Huang

3rd place – Emily Sun

Winners Mathematical Investigations (Years 11-12) Category

1st place – Max Yang

2nd place – Clint Therakam

3rd place – Jackson Huang

Highly commended place – Danika Tran